ELyTMaX UMI 3757



Prof. OGAWA Kazuhiro 小川 和洋

  1. Cold Spray coating
  2. Thermal barrier coating

Prof. SEBALD Gael セバルド ガエル
(from LGEF INSA Lyon) (email)

  1. Elastocaloric material design
  2. Energy harvesting


Researchers involved at ELyTMaX-Sendai

Assoc. Prof DUCHARNE Benjamin (From LGEF, INSA Lyon) (email)

  1. Multiphysics coupling in materials, hysteresis and frequency dependence
  2. Micro-magnetic non-destructive evaluation
  3. Fractional calculus applied to hysteresis dynamics and to electromagnetic non-destructive testing.

Prof. KATO Hidemi (IMR) (email)

  1. Metallic glass and dealloying
  2. Supercooled liquid
  3. Nanoporous metal


Prof KOMIYA Atsuki (IFS) (email)

  1. Mass transfer and mass diffusion processes
  2. Heat and mass transfer
  3. Proteins, supercritical fluid

Prof. KUWANO Hiroki (NICHe) (email)

  1. Micro Energy 
  2. MEMs & Microsensor
  3. Nanosystems

Prof. MAKIHARA Kanjuro (DAE) (email)

  1. Energy harvesting
  2. vibration control, noise control
  3. aerospace structures

Prof. NAKANO Masami (NICHe) (email)

  1. Magnetorheological material
  2. Energy harvesting

Prof. OHTA Makoto (IFS) (email)

  1. 3D printing
  2. Flow field modeling and visualization (CFD computation)
  3.  Hemodynamic analysis

Prof. Uchimoto Tetsuya (IFS) (email)

  1. Electromagnetic NDE
  2. NDE Eddy current testing
  3. Big data analysis for NDE

Prof. Watanabe Yutaka (QSE) (email)

  1. Predicting distress of nuclear reactor
  2. Development of deterioration measures material
  3. improvement of maintenance technology, risk management

Prof. SATO Yutaka (DMP) (email)

  1. material structure at weld
  2. Physical chemistry of bonding processes
  3. weld and surface reforming by high energy beam

Assoc. Prof SHIMOYAMA Koji (IFS) (email)

  1. Multi-objective approaches
  2. Bayesian optimization
  3. Thermo-Fluid dynamics simulation

Assist. Prof. BERNARD Chrystelle (TI-FRIS) (email)

  1. Nanomechanics
  2. Polymer
  3. Cold spray process


Ph.D. students (Double degree Ph.D. candidates)

Mr. OLIVIER-LAMARQUE Lucas (2019-2022)

CNRS international grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

Non destructive evolation and polymer material

DOI: 10.3390/nano12040651 DOI :10.1016/j.porgcoat.2020.105846


Ms DECROOCQ Meghane (2019-2022)

MESRI Grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

Modeling cerebral arterial networks and blood flow simulation

DOI 10.48550/arXiv.2201.08279


Ms YUANYUAN Liu (2020-2023)

MESRI Grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

Magnetostrictive materials and systems for energy harvesting


Ms SHURIU Zhang (2020-2023)

JSPS grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

The quantification of residual stress and iron loss of electrical steel sheet to propose a technique for monitoring the efficient performance of material 


Mr. TAXIL Gaspard (2021-2024)

 ANR Grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

Modélisation et caractérisation d'éléments piézoélectriques sous contrainte extrême pour la récupération d’énergie


Mr JACQUEMOND Achille (2021-2024)

MESRI Grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

Magnetostrictive materials and systems for energy harvesting



Mr LESAGE Louis (2021-2024)

CNRS international grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon

Liquid metal dealloying powder for additive manufacturing processes


Ms SION Marianne (2021-2024)

CNRS international grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon


Mr KOHATA Yutaro (2021-2024)

JP Mext grant. Tohoku Univ / INSA Lyon



Mr MAZOYER Clément (2021-2024)

MESRI grant. Tohoku University / EC Lyon


Researchers at ELyTMaX-Lyon

Prof. Emeritus CAVAILLE Jean-Yves (co Head of French site)


  1. Polymer physic
  2. Smart materials

Assoc. Prof. MARY Nicolas (co Head of French site)

ELyTMaX & MATEIS share position

  1. Mechanical-chemical coupling phenomena
  2. tribocorrosion, fatigue corrosion
  3. polymer coating 

Assoc. Prof. GILLOT Frédéric (in charge of ECL office)

ELyTMaX & LTDS share position

  1. Multi-objective approaches
  2. Bayesian optimization

Assoc. Prof. YUSE Kaori

Cross-appointed staff with IFS & LGEF share position


  1. Smart materials
  2. Multiphysic characterization

Assoc. Prof. JOLLY-POTTUZ Lucile

Cross-appointed staff with IFS & MATEIS share position


  1. High resolution microscopic
  2. In situ characterization

Assoc. Prof. FRINDEL Carole

Cross-appointed staff with IFS & CREATIS share position


  1. Modeling cerebral arterial networks
  2. Blood flow simulation

Assoc. Prof. BESSET Sébastien

ELyTMaX & LTDS share position

  1. Multi-objective approaches
  2. Bayesian optimization



Formers Researchers and colleagues welcomed at ELyTMaX-Sendai

(2016-2021) Dr. DIGUET Gildas ディゲ ジルダス

  • Electro-mechanical coupling
  • magneto-mechanical coupling
  • Heterostructures

Dr. YAN Linjuan (2019-2020)


  • Energy harvesting with smart materials;
  • Vibration control;
  • Periodic structure study

Prof. LALLART Mickaël (2019-2020)


  • Multiphysic coupling,
  • Small-scale energy conversion,
  • Energy harvesting

Prof. FABREGUE Damien (2019) ​



Mr. OIKAWA Hiroshi 及川 洋

Chief Administrative Office


Formers Ph.D. Students

(2017-2020) Ms. JAFFRE Kathleen

  1. Double degree PhD Student INSA-Tohoku
  2. Optimizing surface to Prevent SCC initiation in energy industries
  3. 10.3390/met11010135
  4. 10.1016/j.jnucmat.2021.153258

(2017-2020) Mr. MOHANASUNDARAM Pradeep

  1. Double degree PhD Student ECL-Tohoku
  2. Robust shape optimization of disc-pad system under squeal noise criteria
  3. 10.1007/s00158-021-02947-7
  4. 10.1007/s42452-020-2175-8

(2016-2020) Ms. LAPUSHKINA Elizaveta ラプシュキナ エリザベータ

  1. Double degree PhD Student INSA-Tohoku
  2. Cold spray and sacrifical coating for anticorrosion applications
  3. 10.1016/j.surfcoat.2020.126193

(2016-2019) Dr. RAVI Kesavan ラヴィ ケサヴァン

  1. Double degree PhD Student and JSPS postdoc
  2.  Polymer coating by Cold-Spray
  3. 10.1007/s11666-015-0276-5
  4. 10.1016/j.addma.2018.02.022

(2016-2019) Mr. GUPTA Bhaawan グプタ バーワン

  1. Double degree PhD Student INSA-Tohoku
  2. Micromagnetic models for non destructive testing
  3. 10.1016/j.jmmm.2019.166102
  4. 10.1016/j.jmmm.2019.165250


They performed their Master thesis with us: 

(2019) Mr. RASSE Charles

Intern from U.T.T., France

welcomed in Watanabe/Abe Lab (QSE)

DOI: 10.3390/met11081152


(2017-2019) Mr. OLLIVIER-LAMARQUE Lucas オリビエ ラマーク リュカ

Double degree MASTER Student INSA-Tohoku 

Welcomed in Uchimoto L


(2016) Mr. FERRI Sébastien フェリ セバスチャン 

Intern from Université de Lyon, France 

welcomed in Watanabe/Abe Lab (QSE)


(2016) Mr. BOUCIDA Nazim ブジタ ナジム 

Intern from Université de Lyon, France